People often don’t care about the laws and other things related to it. But when the code becomes the number one priority for the State, then you have to look for it and make yourself aware of it. Virginia has the same strict Laws, and the Virginia code for every crime exists in the state. The code of Virginia has set the punishments, penalties or charges into categories such as Felonies and Misdemeanors. Felonies and Misdemeanors are broken into classes, depending on how severe the crime is. There are six classes which separate the crime and its charges for Felonies and Misdemeanors. Each category has different penalties and fine ratio. From one to six, as the number goes up, the charges become less harsh and less strict. When it comes to Class 3, it covers a large number of crimes under its banner and usually one of the most applied felony in Virginia, too.
Class III Felony
Class III felony include following crimes;
- A third DUI offense
- Weaponless Burglary Charge
- Intent to Kill
- Intent to disable someone
If you commit any of the crime listed above, then you will be dealt with underclass III felony. Class III felony counts as the middle range felony as well. It comes on number third and then there are three more felonies under it. The penalties or punishments for class III felony are a middle range as well.
What is the Penalty for a Class 3 Felony in Virginia?
The punishment or penalties for Class II felony are not very severe or harsh, but they aren’t less than harsh as well. Committing any crime which falls under the radar of felony III will lead towards the maximum of 20 years and the least is five years. It can also bring a fine of maximum $100,000 according to the code of Virginia. (Va. Ann. Code § 18.2-10.) Although, the fine is not always compulsory.
Facing punishment for felony III or any other felonies and misdemeanors can cost you heavily, even after completing the sentence or paying the fine. There are always going to be very harsh consequences considering any felony you have got charged with. If you are given or charged with a felony which includes violence, then you will lose your voting opportunity for the rest of your life. And if there isn’t anything related to violence, such as; drugs possession or other crimes, then you can appeal in the court for giving you your voting right. But this is only applicable if you complete your jail sentence or pay your fines. Facing any felony is obviously something any person wouldn’t like to face. Many people in Virginia don’t know where to go when they are charged with any felony or when they commit any crime. So, it’s always a better option to keep yourself aware of your State’s Law and distance from everything which lead towards either crime or any felonies or misdemeanors. For a safe route, always consider a lawyer and make sure you are safe from any kind of crime there is.